top of page

Blessington Lake - a good option for one day trip from Dublin

Updated: Dec 19, 2022





Sometimes you don't need to rent a car, or spend the night in an accommodation, to get to know a little more about Ireland. The Blessington Lakes region is an example of this. Blessington is a region with wonderful landscapes, buildings full of history to tell such as Threecastles and Russborough House & Park, in addition to lakes and forests.


If we look at the map, we have the impression that it is much further than it looks, but it is not that far, including bus no. 65, operated by Dublin Bus, can take you there. That's right, a Dublin Bus, a regular bus. The timetable is a little more restricted, for the same price range. Below I have provided two links, one with the timetable and one with the Dublin Bus site map.


Timetable - click here

Dublin Bus itinerary map - click here



I cycled about 40km to get there and as I already knew I wouldn't have the strength to come back the same day, so I booked an excellent bed & breakfast in Airbnb. I was very well received by the host, she prepared a place to store the bikes, she also prepared a tea that made me relax after riding a lot. I must also say that I even worried her, because I had said that I would arrive around 5pm, then I said I would be late and arrive at 7pm, but as I was tired I ended up arriving only at 8:30pm, when it was already very dark.


It was a bit crazy decision, but I have amazing landscapes in my memory. Ah, I have to say that the breakfast from Baltyboys Lodge Bed & Breakfast was one of the best I have had, I am missing this breakfast right now - Oh my god, that breakfast was really, really good.


To book in Airbnb - click here

Location in Google Maps - click here





I made a list of some places that I found interesting in the region:


1. Russborough House & Park, Russborough - it is a Georgian House, open to visitors (buy the tickets), with café, toilets, a nice park to walk.


Website - click here

Location in Google Maps - click here




2. Blessington Greenway - there a parking, kayak club, amazing landsape, close the bus stop, you can walk untill Poulaphouca reservoir and get another view from Blessignton lake.


Website - click here





3. Threecastles Castle - it is a national monument


To know more - click here

Location in Google Maps - click here



4. Valleymount Bridge


Location in Google Maps - click here



Comments


bottom of page